Skip to main content

2018 Awards and Honors

Miriam Shields Gottlieb Memorial Piano Competition
Congratulations to RSM student Sean Cheng for winning 3rd place in the 2018 Miriam Shields Gottlieb Memorial Piano Competition!  Miriam Shields Gottlieb Memorial Piano Competition is held for students in 12th grade and below. All students must perform three works by three different composers. Sean performed pieces by Bach, Beethoven and Debussy. Way to Go Sean!

MSMTA Piano Solo Competition – Student Achievement
Congratulations to RSM students Sean Cheng for winning 1st place, Alexandra Wu for receiving honorable mention and Grace Lowden for receiving excellent ratings in the 2018 MSMTA Spring Piano Festival! The MSMTA Spring Festival Piano Competition happens once a year at Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center and the University of Maryland, College Park. Students perform two pieces from different periods. Way to go Sean, Alexandra and Grace!

Rockville Piano and Strings Competition
Congratulations to RSM student, Sean Cheng, for receiving honorable mention in the 2018 Rockville Piano and Strings competition. The competition happens once a year at Montgomery Community College. Students perform two pieces of contrasting styles. Sean performed piano pieces by Beethoven and Debussy. The competition contained over 500 participants. Only a select few received awards. Way to go Sean!

MSMTA Music Theory Exam – Student Achievement

Congratulations to RSM students that participated in the 2018 MSMTA music theory testing exam. Our students ranked in the 87th percentile and above receiving superior and excellent ratings.

  • Superior: Aiko Gulston, Jillian Shoultz, Ethan Shoultz, Matthew Wu, Laila Sheikh, Nicholas Emig, Samaira Hammond, Alexander Sleeman, John Dorsey.
  • Excellent: Valentina Rosa, Shishir Nallar

Piano Guild Awards
Congratulations to RSM’s students that participated in the 2018 Howard County Chapter of Piano Guild. Our students received Superior Plus, Superior Superior Minus, Excellent Plus, Excellent and Good ratings:
  • State Winners (performed 7-9 memorized pieces): Nicholas Emig
  • District Winners (performed 4-6 memorized pieces): Sebastian Clare, Aiko Gulston, Samaira Hammond, Shishir Nallar, Soraya Sharif, Danielle Spence, Sydney Smith
  • Local Winners (performed 2-3 memorized pieces): Nadia Walcott, Anisa Jackson, Krishna Gawandi, Alexandra Wu, Shravan Yoagentharan, Misha Usmani, Kemka Ihemelandu, Kainetochi Ihemelandu, Sophia Clare, Tatyana Chasen, Alexander Sleeman, Isaiah McCray, Nia Holland, Valentina Rosa, Laila Sheikh, Kim Burson

MTNA Studio Festival Awards

Congratulations to RSM’s 2018 MTNA Studio Festival Winners Scoring Superior, Excellent and Good Ratings

  • Local Winners (performed 3-4 memorized pieces):Dev Patel, Mishty Patel and Cameron Grissom
  • Pledge Winner (performed 2 memorized pieces):Kemka Ihemelandu, Kainetochi Ihemelandu and Kim Burson